Dystopian · Fantasy · Personal · Review · Romance · Sci-fi

Review ~ With These Wings by Wendy Knight

35492186Title: With These Wings
Author: Wendy Knight
Release date: June 23rd, 2017
Genre: Dystopian, Fantasy, Romance

Book Description:

Seventeen-year-old Phoenyx was taken by the aliens who were supposed to save humanity. But Phoenyx didn’t die. She escaped.
Changed, different. Terrifying.
Now she protects the people she used to call neighbors and friends, despite the fact that they don’t trust her. She looks like the aliens—beautiful, strong, and winged. And that’s why those she protects want her dead.
She doesn’t blame them.
All the while, she’s searching for Cole, the boy whose arms she was ripped from the night she was taken. When he shows up at their compound with a new love, everything Phoenyx has been fighting for is turned on its head, and she has to figure out what side she’s really on and who she really is before she loses herself completely.
Never trust beautiful things.

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & Noble

Review

What an original story! It was Dystopian, Fantasy, and Romance…and had a unique story that I hadn’t read before! How awesome is that? The journey of survival and self-discovery was amazing to read and I could barely put it down!

The characters were great too: Phoenyx, Enika, Cole…though I didn’t care for Cole as much as I would have liked to. But he tries hard to do the right thing and I can admire that. Enika is so…adorable! I really can’t think of a better word for her and the way she carries that axe? Just makes me laugh!

This book is a good clean read, of course it does have some bad language in it but other than that it is a fantastic read!

* I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. I was not compensated for my review, and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed here is my own.*

Four Stars

 

About the Author

600309

They thought I was a tumor…

Actually, for the first seven months of my in-utero existence, no one even knew I was there. My mom just thought she was gaining weight. My dad only noticed that she was running much slower at the gym. It was when her stomach puffed out like a beach ball did she think something might be truly wrong.

The doctor told her, “You have a tumor…with a heartbeat.”

Surprise!

Fast forward 28 years, and I also noticed I was gaining weight like crazy. After spending my life teasing my mom, I found myself in an almost-exact same position, only I was four months pregnant instead of seven.

Karma.

And that’s life. I now spend my days chasing kids and feeding dogs, and sometimes, if I time it just right, I get to escape into my writing.

Author Links:
Leave a Reply

