Fantasy · Personal · Review · Romance · Series · Young Adult

Review ~ Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22328546.jpgTitle: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Series: Red Queen #1
Release date: February 10th, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Book Description:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo Books|iBooks|Google Play

Review

I really had no interest in this book/series since it came out. I guess it just never popped up on my radar as something I would enjoy very much. But a fellow lover of books mentioned it to me a couple times and I finally thought, “Well, what the heck. I’ll give it a shot.”

BOY am I glad that I did! Holy freaking cow, this book was awesome! I was hooked as soon as I started reading and couldn’t put it down!

So it’s a world divided by blood, Silver and Red. The Silvers have special abilities, which give them power and status. Even the Silvers that don’t have abilities are still royalty. This book is stock full of rebellion, betrayal, romance and a hell of a plot twist!

Mare Barrow is such a great female lead character, nothing of note that irritated me about her, so that is a definite good sign! Now to just take a moment to explain the feelings brought on by Maven and Cal…

1473859772-giphy-1.gif

giphy.gif

THAT ENDING IS….OH MY GOD..I CAN’T EVEN….seriously go read it! I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone so my review may seem a bit lacking, but that is just how I roll!

Five Stars

About the Author

7074943I’m a screenwriter/YA author who likes books and lists. This site is the nexus of my universe.

My book RED QUEEN will be published Winter 2015 from HarperTeen at HarperCollins. I’m repped by the incomparable Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media, Inc.

The genres I’m into include YA, Fantasy, Historical, Adventure, Apocalyptic – if people are dying, I’m buying.

Author Links:

 photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

Leave a Reply

