Netgalley · Review

Review ~ A Reckless Desire by Isabella Bradford

18925969Title: A Reckless Desire (Breconridge Brothers #3)

Author: Isabella Bradford

Release date: March 1st 2016

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Genre: Historical, Romance

Book Description:

For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries: the elegantly seductive third historical romance in Isabella Bradford’s Breconridge Brothers trilogy.

Lord Rivers Fitzroy is as charming and sought-after as his rakish elder brothers, though he immerses himself more in dusty books and scholarly pursuits than in bawdy houses. Yet, Hell-bent on making the most of his remaining bachelorhood now that his father insists he marry, Rivers becomes the favorite of a troupe of Italian dancers. One night, after a performance, the handsome lord is challenged with a most provocative wager: Turn the players’ meek and mousy cousin into the first lady of the London stage.

But Lucia di Rossi is not what she seems. Scorned by the rest of her family, Lucia longs for the respect and stardom of a great actress. Rivers’s wager could be the answer to all her hopes—so long as he understands that she wants to be an actress, not his mistress. The two commence her metamorphosis in earnest—even as passion begins to take center stage. As Lucia’s dreams come true, she fears that it may be Rivers, not she, who is the master performer. Is he only making her believe he cares? Has she found the spotlight only to lose her heart—or will the final curtain reveal a love strong enough to last?

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo Books

Review

This story was quite enjoyable. It had a decent plotline and I liked the honesty that Rivers and Lucia had with one another. Not a lot of drama or misunderstandings, which is extremely refreshing. That kind of stuff gets old really fast.

It was wonderfully written, had a good pace and even though this book is number three in a series it can certainly be read as a standalone. However, I do plan on eventually reading the other books in this series and looking forward to what Isabella may write next.

*I received a complimentary copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.*

Four Stars

About the Author:

5337544Isabella Bradford is a pseudonym for Susan Holloway Scott, the award-winning author of more than fifty historical novels and historical romances. Her bestselling books have been published in nineteen countries and translated into fourteen languages with more than three million copies in print. Bradford also writes as half of the Two Nerdy History Girls (twonerdyhistorygirls.com), an entertaining history blog and Twitter account (@2nerdyhistgirls) with an international following. She is a graduate of Brown University, and lives with her family outside of Philadelphia. 

Author Links:

 photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s