Netgalley · Review · Uncategorized

Review ~ My Best Friend’s Stepfather by Opal Carew

25663910Title: My Best Friend’s Stepfather

Author: Opal Carew

Release date: January 12th 2016

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre: Erotica, Romance

Book Description:

She’s always craved his touch…even though it’s forbidden.

When Ash is assigned her first feature as a reporter, it should have been simple: interview a real life Dominant for an article about BDSM. But her subject is none other than Darien Gallagher, her best friend’s stepfather…and it’ll be an interview she never forgets.

What started for Dare as a lesson in sensual domination suddenly has become so much more. He can’t deny the spark between them, even though he knows she’s completely off limits. With every seductive word, every lesson, Dare tests Ash’s resolve and pushes her boundaries. But at the same time, her boss Adam has her craving things she shouldn’t.

While Ash finds herself dreaming of both men, a dark secret threatens to destroy everything. But how can she hold onto a relationship that isn’t even real?

Pre-Order Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo Books

Review

The book didn’t exactly go as I thought it would, and it had its good points and some very bad points.

So..here goes my explanation. I very much enjoyed the relationships in this book! Dare, Ashley…and Adam (I promise not to give away too much) they are just SOOO yummy together! I am missing the BDSM though, I mean, Ashley is supposed to be getting “trained” by Dare..but it’s not really training…I guess I’m confused there.

ALSO- I’m EXTREMELY thrown off this book by Helen, not because she’s a friend and Dare is her Step-father, but not really and it’s confusing why it would be such a big deal when it really freaking isn’t AND Helen and Ashley aren’t even BFF anymore OH AND she’s super duper creepy and gross..ANYWAY…

The article…what the heck happened there?? I mean…was it even important or was it just a plot setter and then it was just decided that everyone just stop talking about it like it never even happened??

LASTLY— THE ENDING— LIKE WHAT THE HECK JUST HAPPENED???!!! I did NOT see that coming and it’s actually kind of disturbing and I don’t really know what to think about it. Believe me..when you get to this particular spot you will be thinking EXACTLY the same thing!

So- The romance is amazing in this book, but the rest really was just confusing and had my head hurting. But even though I am not that thrilled with this one, I will be reading more from Opal because she is an incredible author.

I feel I have to mention, this is a ménage book with M/M moments, which I personally don’t care about one way or the other. But there are people out there who would pick this up expecting it to be a M/F semi normal relationship and I just want to put out there that it is not and if you’re not into M/M or Ménage then you shouldn’t read this book!

*I received a complimentary copy of the book from Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.*

Three Star

 

About the Author:

206712

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Opal Carew loves cats, Zentangle, and wild nail polish!

 

 

 

Author Links:

Leave a Reply

