Review · Uncategorized

Apprentice (The Black Mage #2) by Rachel E. Carter

24978973.jpgTitle: Apprentice

Author: Rachel E. Carter

Release date: February 17th 2015

Publisher: Astraea Press

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Book Description:

She survived a trial year at the Academy, but that was just the easy part…

Now sixteen-year-old Ryiah is an apprentice of Combat, her school’s most notorious faction of magic. When she finishes she will be a mage, but in order to do so she has to survive four years with a training master she hates and her old nemesis, Priscilla. To make matters worse the unwanted attraction Ry feels for her sometimes-friend-sometimes-rival Prince Darren is at an all time high –even though he is betrothed to the very girl she can’t stand.

Really, the only bright spot to Ryiah’s new life is the time she spends with her friends, including an older apprentice named Ian, who she finds herself thinking about quite often.

Just when things start to get comfortable they take a turn for the worse. An apprentice is killed in a rebel attack and several mages end up dead. Unwittingly, the apprentices find themselves in the midst of a budding unrest between Jerar and its northern neighbor, Caltoth. For Ryiah the impending conflict means many things, but as her apprenticeship draws to a close she finds her biggest problem at home.

Unfortunately for her, Darren’s not going anywhere.

Buy Links:

AmazonBarnes & NobleKobo BooksiBooks

Review-Caution occasional FOUL language ahead and Some SPOILERS

So I’m just going to say something short and sweet and then I proceed to explain my actual feelings with GIF’s because it will be freaking HILARIOUS!!!

Since I finished the first book early early this morning I was all excited to get into book #2. It was also a really good book! Don’t get me wrong, yeah it didn’t turn out how I wanted it…but I’m not the author and it’s not my story! SOOOOO yeah I’m a little disappointed there but everything still worked out for the best, so far. I will see how things go in #3…I don’t know. Maybe everything will change or a someone new might make an appearance…you never know!

I’m still not sold on Darren, I guess I just don’t like him much. And in this book Ryiah is sometimes still a kickass girl, she does a lot of butt kicking and awesome stuff but then there are times when I just wondered where the heck her mind was because she was dense and a little…dumb…I hated that.

I very much enjoyed that Ella and Alex are a thing now and are super duper cute! Pricilla got her ass kind of handed to her at the end, but I would have preferred at bit more action with that one. Maybe a nice good throw across the room because she was still a bitch in this book.

Moving on…lots of action and battles. Possibly a war in the next book?? Just a possibility, some sadness too. This book was just all over the place..in an okay way.

So still a good book, I recommend it just like I did the first book!

TIME FOR GIF’s, My reactions to this book!

surprisedten

tennantgorgeous

Doctor_wait_what

giphy

tumblr_mv6hsb6DJX1sewz1yo1_500

suck-at-hair-2

My Husband at my crazy reactions and random fits of talking…or arguing with the book.

tumblr_lqh0ehQsuN1qdlkgg

tumblr_mlg10ytOo91s1xbe9o1_500

large

giphy1

THE END!!!!! Seriously though, get to reading because it’s a good series!

 

images88TQADQV

 

About the Author:

8440277

Rachel E. Carter is a young adult author who hoards coffee and books. She has a weakness for villain and bad boy love interests. When not writing, she is usually reading, and when not reading she is usually asleep. To her, the real world is Hogwarts and everything else is a lie.

The Black Mage is Rachel’s first YA fantasy series, with many more to come. She loves to interact with fellow readers & aspiring writers, and here is a list of places you can find her online:

Instagram: https://instagram.com/rachelcarterauthor
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/recarterauthor
Tumblr: http://rachelcarterauthor.tumblr.com
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/author/rachelec…
Email: rachelcarterauthor@gmail.com

Never want to miss a release or giveaway? Sign up for my AUTHOR NEWSLETTER.

If you are a blogger, ARC copies of my books are occasionally available a week or two before release (ebooks only, limited quantity). If you’d like to be considered when ARCs are ready, sign up on my BLOGGER MAILING LIST.

Author Links:

 photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

Leave a Reply

